Sensex likely to ‘show’ Gujarat Exit Poll results before TV channels

The Indian stock markets are today expected to reflect the results of exit polls from the second phase of Gujarat state elections by the afternoon, even as television channels have to wait till the end of voting to show the results. Several channels, including Times Now, ABP and CNN News18 have tied up with pollsters […]

Mayawati warns Muslims: Akhilesh vs Mulayalam will bring BJP to power

Bahujan Samaj Party leader Kumari Mayawati has warned Muslim voters in Uttar Pradesh against continuing to vote for Samajwadi Party, claiming that the current fight between SP leader Mulayam Singh and his son Akhilesh would split their votes in two. “I urge you not to let your vote get divided between Akhilesh and Mulayalam groups. […]

Aruvikkara Election Results: BJP ensures Left defeat, Congress victory

The BJP has in-effect defeated the Left front in the Aruvikkara by-election and helped the Congress win by cutting into the Hindu votes in the constituency. While the Congress candidate KS Shabarinathan got 56,448 votes, the runner-up, M Vijayakumar of the Left, got just 46,320 votes. BJP’s O Rajagopal got 34,145 votes. The Congress was […]