55 Post Offices get Passport Seva Kendras

The number of post offices with passport issuance centers has risen to 55, the government said.

Another 180 will be opened as well, the ministry of external affairs said, divulging the list of the post offices where passport seva kendras have been opened so far.

Citizens can apply for their passports from these facilities instead of going to the regional passport office.

The highest number have been opened in Bihar so far, with five locations — Muzaffarpur, Purnea, Bhagalpur, Siwan and Bettiah — already seeing the start of operations.

Uttar Pradesh also has five centers, Jhansi, Pilibhit, Ghazipur, Faizabad and Allahabad.

Three have been opened in Maharashtra, Haryana, Odisha, Andhra Pradesh and Gujarat, four in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and West Bengal.

Two each have been opened in Kerala, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Jharkhand and Himachal Pradesh.

Assam, Chhattisgarh and Jammu & Kashmir have seen the opening of one such center so far.


Another 26 such centers will be opened in Uttar Pradesh and 11 in Tamil Nadu. Other states too will see significant expansion in the future.

The full list of the post offices with the passport application facility is given below.

Andhra Kadappa
Andhra Kurnool
Andhra Nellore
Assam Silchar
Bihar Muzaffarpur
Bihar Purnea
Bihar Bhagalpur
Bihar Siwan
Bihar Bettiah
Chattisgarh Surguja
Dadar Silvasa
Daman Daman
Gujarat Dahod
Gujarat Palanpur
Gujarat Bhuj
Haryana Karnal
Haryana Hisar
Haryana Faridabad
Himachal Palampur
Himachal Hamirpur
Jammu Udhampur
Jharkhand Jamshedpur
Jharkhand Deoghar
Karnataka Mysuru
Kerala Pathanamthitta
Kerala Kasargod
Lakshadweep Kavaratti
Madhya Vidisha
Madhya Satna
Madhya Jabalpur
Madhya Gwalior
Maharastra Kolhapur
Maharastra Aurangabad
Maharastra Pimpri
Odisha Rourkela
Odisha Sambalpur
Odisha Koraput
Rajasthan Kota
Rajasthan Bikaner
Rajasthan Jhunjhunu
Rajasthan Jaisalmer
Rajasthan Jhalawar
Tamil Salem
Tamil Vellore
Telangana Mehbubnagar
Telangana Warangal
Uttar Jhansi
Uttar Pilibhit
Uttar Ghazipur
Uttar Ayodhya/
Uttar Allahabad
West Bengal Asansol
West Bengal Raiganj
West Bengal Beadon Street
West Bengal Krishnanagar