UP Bypoll Results – Congress, BJP, SP get one seat each; BJP leads in Karnataka


The Congress Party has won the Deoband assembly seat in Uttar Pradesh, while the BJP has won Muzaffarnagar.

All the three seats undergoing bypolls in the state are sitting seats of Samajwadi Party.

In Muzaffarnagar, BJP’s Kapildev Aggarwal won. In Deoband, the Congress candidate Mavia Ali beat SP’s Meena Rana by 3,000 votes. BJP came third.

In the third seat, Bikapur in Faizabad, Anand Sen of Samajwadi Party defeated INLD.

In both Deoband and Muzaffarpur, the Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM was expected to cut into Samajwadi Party’s Muslim vote base.

BSP did not put up any candidates.

SP’s Naved Siddiqui said the party will evaluate what went wrong, and considers the results important.

In Karnataka by-election, the BJP was leading in two, and Congress in one.

In Bihar, the only seat in the state is going in favor of Rashtriya Lok Samata Party, which is part of the National Democratic Alliance.

In Punjab, the Shiromani Akali Dal has won the only seat where byelections are being held. However, both the Aam Aadmi Party and Congress have fielded no candidates there. The only seat in Maharashtra was won by incumbent Shiv Sena.

BJP ‘s Narayan Trpathi is leading in the only seat in Madhya Pradesh.

In Tripura, the only seat was won by CPI-M, while the only seat in Telangana was won by Telangana Rashtra Samiti.

[socialpoll id=”2333158″]

Muzzaffarpur BJP SP
Deoband Cong SP
Bhikapur SP SP
Palghar Shiv Sena Shiv Sena
Harlakhi RLSP  17,000 RLSP
Hebbal BJP
Bidar Congress
Devadurga BJP
Maihar BJP
Khadoor Sahib SAD Cong