IND Vs NZ: India win toss at Indore, to bat first

Courtesy: Hotstar Screengrab
Courtesy: Hotstar Screengrab

India won the toss and chose to bat first in the  third Paytm test match at Holkar Stadium, Indore.

The pitch will favour the bowlers and batting would be difficult, was Sunil Gavaskar’s opinion.

“It will be a batman friendly wicket”, said Virat Kohli after winning the toss for the third time in the series.

New Zealand will be playing for pride in Indore after India secured an unassailable 2-0 series win against them at Eden Gardens.

Injured Buvaneshwar Kumar has been replaced by Umesh Yadav.

Skikhar Dhawan’s injury to his thumb, coming in the midst of a poor run of form, gives the comeback man Gautam Gambhir a slot in the playing eleven.

J Neesham will find a place in the playing eleven for the first time in the Kiwi’s side in this series.

“Gambhir is a natural replacemnet for Shikhar,” said the Indian skipper Virat Kohli.

The 34-year old southpaw will be playing for India after a break of two years.

India: Virat Kohli (C), W Saha, Rohit Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Ajinkya Rahane, Gautam Gambhir, Chateshwar Pujara,  Umesh Yadav, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Murali Vijay

New Zealand:  Tom Latham, Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Luke Ronchi, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, BJ Watling(w), Jeetan Patel, Matt Henry, Trent Boult