Power ministry hastens rural electrification plans after Modi’s I-Day speech


Following Narendra Modi’s Independence day speech Power ministry has decided to electrify remaining  7,876 un-electrified villages before 1st May 2018.

The project, which was taken on mission mode last year, will now see squeezing the implementation schedule to 12 months and also dividing village electrification process into 12 stages, with defined time lines for monitoring.

Modi on his  Independence day speech said: “Out of 18,000 un electrified villages (as per Census 2011), more than 10,000 villages have been electrified and I have been told they are with us, watching this celebration of Independence Day.”

The government of India took the rural electrification project on ‘mission mode’ in August 2015, and increased the rate of roll out.

While only 1,654 villages were electrified during the 4.5 months starting from April 2015 to 14 Aug last year, a total of 8,397 additional villages were electrified from 15th August 2015 to 14th August 2016.

And the pace of roll-out has been increasing. Last week, a record 398 villages were electrified under Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojna (DDUGJY), the Power Ministry said.

In order to expedite the progress further, a close monitoring is being done through Gram Vidyut Abhiyanta (GVA) and various actions are also being taken on regular basis like reviewing the progress on monthly basis, it added.

It also has a website dedicated to tracking the project.