The Government of India has appointed three new governors and a Lt Governor

Banwarilal Purohit has been appointed as the Governor of Assam, Najma A. Heptulla as the Governor of Manipur and V.P. Singh Badnore as the Governor of Punjab.

Prof. Jagdish Mukhi has been appointed as the Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Najma A. Heptulla is a former union minister in charge of minority affairs in the Modi government.

Banwarilal Purohit was a member of parliament from Nagpur constituency.